The Town Clerk serves as the Town Registrar of Vital Records and Statistics. The Clerk is authorized to issue certified copies of all vital records in his/her custody, as well as to execute adoption and amendment dispositions regarding records originating in the Town, in accordance with State Law and compliance with the Department of Vital Records and Statistics procedures.
The fee for certified copies is $10 each. If requesting a record by mail, please use the Vital Records Request form (PDF). You can also submit payments online. Please contact the Town Clerk at 508-832-7701 to make sure the document you are requesting is on file.
Burial permit fees are $10. If using the online payment for death certificates, please include an extra $10 for the burial permit.
The Auburn Town Clerk's office accepts for filing and maintains the birth records for those children whose parents resided in Auburn at the time of the birth whether the birth occurred in Auburn or another community.
The Auburn Town Clerk's office accepts and maintains the marriage records of those couples who file their intention in Auburn and are married in any city or town in Massachusetts.
The Auburn Town Clerk's office accepts for filing and maintains the records of those persons who died in Auburn or for those persons whose residence was listed as Auburn on the death record whether they died in Auburn or another community.
There is no additional charge for searching for records unless the number of records exceeds five then there is a $25 non-refundable charge for the search in addition to the cost of $10 for each certified copy.
There are times when this office is too busy to take the time needed to search records. During those times we will require that you make an appointment or leave us a list. We suggest that you contact our office at 508-832-7701 before coming to Auburn. We will make every effort, as our time allows, to accommodate you.
The Town of Auburn charges $40 to file an Intention to Marry application. For more information go to Mass.gov to obtain locations, hours and fees.
The three-day waiting period is required under Massachusetts statute. The license will be available on the third calendar after the day of the application. If you apply on a Friday, your license can be issued on or after Monday. Please note that licenses are not issued on Saturday or Sunday or after hours.
The marriage license is valid for 60 days from the day of the application. Applications must be made within 60 days of the date of the wedding. There is a three-day waiting period; therefore applications must be made at least 3 days prior to the wedding date.
If the marriage is to take place in Massachusetts, you may apply for your license at any City or Town Clerk’s office in Massachusetts. Information on office hours in other cities and towns can be obtained from the Mass.gov page.
No appointment is necessary. A couple must appear at the Clerk’s office together, in person with picture identification.
If there is reason to dispense with the three-day waiting period, a couple may apply to the judge of a Massachusetts Probate or District Court to have the license issued without delay. Applicants must present the court waiver to file the intention and receive the marriage license at that time without waiting.