Public Works

Department of Public Works Notice - COVID 19

At this time, the Department of Public Works will remain operational. Any inquiries or concerns can be reported to the DPW office. All permits (including but not limited to Road Opening, Trench, Driveway, and Sewer Connection) can be downloaded from the Town website. Completed permit applications and associated fees can be mailed or deposited in the drop box at 5 Millbury Street, Auburn, MA 01501. Please no cash payments.

For additional information, please refer to the following list of contacts:

  • Joanna Paquin, DPW Director/Town Engineer – Email or Call 508-832-7814
  • Nicholas Schwartz, P.E., Assistant DPW Director / Superintendent of the Sewer Division - Email or Call 508-832-7812
  • Ken Fairbanks, Highway, Parks and Cemetery Superintendent – Email or Call 508-832-7814
  • Kristen Pappas, Recreation Director – Email or Call 508-755-3291


Pinrock Road Force Main

The Pinrock Road pump station is the largest wastewater pumping station in Auburn, which conveys all of the wastewater flow from the Town to the Upper Blackstone Clean Water (UBCW) treatment facility. A redundant 20-inch diameter sewer force main will be installed from the pump station to the UBCW property, to ensure resiliency of the critical force main and to aid in future maintenance. The work began on Monday March 14, starting at the pump station and continuing down Rose Lane and across Southwest Cutoff (Route 20) towards the UBCW property. Traffic patterns may be disrupted on Rose Lane, Greenwood Street, and Southwest Cutoff during the work. Affected residents shall be notified in advance of any traffic or utility disruptions that directly impact access to their property. For any questions about the project, please call 508-823-7811.

Department Information

The Department of Public Works maintains capital facilities, and provides services and performs functions for the Town of Auburn related to:

  • Bridges
  • Cemetery
  • Dams
  • Forestry
  • Highways
  • Landfill
  • Parks
  • Recreation
  • Sanitary Sewer
  • Sidewalks
  • Stormwater
  • Streets


The Department of Public Works consists of four divisions.