Commission on Disability


The Commission on Disability meets one time per month.  



  • Kara Ann Westerman - Term expires: June 30, 2024
  • Kym Meyer - Term expires: June 30, 2024
  • Barbara Bitgood - Term expires: June 30, 2025


The Commission on Disability promotes the inclusion and independence of people with disabilities in all aspects of community life by improving opportunities, supportive services, accommodations and accessibility.  


  • Researches local problems of people with disabilities.
  • Advises and assists municipal officials and employees in ensuring compliance with state and federal laws and regulations that affect people with disabilities.
  • Coordinates or carries out programs designed to meet the problems of people with disabilities in coordination with programs of the Massachusetts Office on Disability.
  • Reviews and make recommendations about policies, procedures, services, activities and facilities of departments, boards and agencies of the Town as they affect people with disabilities.
  • Provide information, referrals, guidance and technical assistance to individuals, public agencies, businesses and organizations in all matters pertaining to disability.
  • Coordinate activities of other local groups organized for similar purposes.

A majority of Commission members shall consist of people with disabilities, one member shall be a member of the immediate family of a person with a disability and one member of shall be either an elected or appointed official of the Town of Auburn.

The Commission is a five member advisory commission appointed by the Town Manager, subject to the approval of the Board of Selectmen, for three year terms, meeting at least one time per month.